Idaho Teacher Katie Mason Named 2022 PBS Digital Innovator All-Star

Today PBS announced the 2022 class of educators selected for the PBS Digital Innovator All-Star Program – honoring classroom changemakers who offer fresh ideas and bold approaches to supporting their students’ growth and learning. Nominated by their local PBS stations, 20 educators were chosen from across the country.

Idaho Public Television is excited to announce that Katie Mason, an Integration Specialist with the Boise School District, was selected as a PBS Digital Innovator All-Star for the 2022-23 school year. Mason was named Idaho Public Television Digital Innovator for the 2020-21 school year, which put her into consideration for the national All-Star honor.

“Katie is an amazing and dynamic educator who I have had the privilege of working with over the last two years as a local Digital Innovator,” said Kari Wardle, Idaho Public Television’s Education Manager. “She is always willing to help and she inspires everyone she meets! Katie is hard-working and dedicated and we are so proud to have her join with educators across the country to enrich the lives of teachers nationwide.”

The PBS Digital Innovator All-Star program brings together a community of PreK-12th grade educators who are innovators and leaders both in and outside of the classroom. Specifically, Digital Innovator All-Stars are selected from a cohort of educators who are doing extraordinary work supporting student learning by integrating media and digital technology in their teaching environments and inspiring students to use these tools in responsible, effective and empowering ways.

“We are thrilled to recognize these 20 teachers for their extraordinary work and dedication to their local communities,” said Lori Brittain, Vice President of PBS LearningMedia. “Each of the new PBS Digital Innovator All-Stars have worked tirelessly to enrich the lives of their students, all while navigating another challenging school year. It is an honor to elevate their powerful stories and thank them for the passion, creativity and grace they bring to their classrooms every day.”

PBS Digital Innovator All-Stars will spend the 2022-23 school year deepening engagement among students, families, educators, schools and their local PBS stations.

Below is a list of the 2022 PBS Digital Innovator All-Stars and their local PBS stations:

  • Katie Mason, Idaho (Idaho Public Television)
  • Andria Rogers, Montana (Montana PBS)
  • Katherine (Kat) Baxter, Alabama (Alabama Public Television)
  • Rodney Porterfield, Alabama (Alabama Public Television)
  • Julie Ornelas, New Mexico (New Mexico PBS / KNME)
  • Emmanuel Smith, Michigan (Detroit Public Television)
  • Cara Pekarcik, Massachusetts (GBH)
  • Chris Tyson-Renshaw, Kentucky (KET)
  • David Upegui, Rhode Island (Rhode Island PBS)
  • Jennifer Sarmento, North Carolina (PBS North Carolina)
  • Christian Wrabley, Pennsylvania (WQED)
  • Jennifer Rayson, Missouri (Nine PBS)
  • Darnell Williams, New Jersey (The WNET Group)
  • Bob Kelly, California (Valley PBS)
  • Ken Kusactay, California (KQED)
  • Jim Bently, California (KVIE)
  • Fred Edwards, North Dakota (Prairie Public)
  • J’Neil Gibson, North Dakota (Prairie Public)
  • Lekena Ackerman, South Carolina (SCETV)
  • Michelle Carton, Alaska (Alaska Public Media)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.