Meet the Staff Mondays – Hank Nystrom

We thought our readers/viewers might like to learn about some of the folks who work at IdahoPTV. Because there are so many people who work behind the scenes, you may have seen some of them, or maybe only heard about them. Today we would like to introduce Videographer/Producer Hank Nystrom.

IdahoPTV’s Carol Beres recently sat down with Hank, who says, “I edit, shoot video, produce, and write for IdahoPTV.” He works on Outdoor Idaho and other shows as well. “A little bit of everything,” he adds.

Hank is a native Idahoan and grew up in Idaho Falls, and graduated from Idaho State University. “I got a B.A. in journalism,” he says. “Then I interned for KISU-TV in Pocatello, as a paid intern. After graduating, it was full circle — back in public television working for KISU-TV.

A few years later, Hank was offered a job in Alaska, where he ended up working at two different television stations. While he was there, he had the opportunity to go on the Iditarod a few times. “The only thing is, the sports director said, ‘Hank, I don’t like shots of dogs’ butts,’” he laughs, “so I had to be careful of that while riding on the sled. I did a lot of stuff up there that you’d never dream of doing because most places you have to fly to.” After a couple of years in the cold, Hank came back to the Gem State. He says, “I worked at KBCI (now KBOI) for over 20 years, until they laid a bunch of us off.” Hank started freelancing and works part-time for IdahoPTV, part-time for ESPN, Fox Sports, and others. “I shoot Boise State football,” he adds.

As for why he works at IdahoPTV, Hank answers, “Why not? You get to do more things and you get to do quality work. And the people you get to work with are really good, too. It’s a good place to be.” In fact, working here has brought him full circle: When the 40th anniversary for Idaho Reports aired, Hank remembers, “I carried the camera for that first story, with Clayton Rye and Paula Wissel. And I remember the name of the interviewee, Mrs. Jolly, who had a daycare center in Pocatello. It was kinda strange, because I worked with all those good people in Pocatello that mentored me, especially Clayton Rye as a photographer. And actually, after I saw that, a week after that he found me on facebook. It’s just a really small world.”  A couple of the most satisfying things he has worked on over his career, is winning a duPont award for an investigation into Boise City Hall at Channel 2, and working on the Resilient Idaho: Hope Lives Here project at IdahoPTV. “I had no idea that it would take off like it has. And helping all the people that it’s helping.”

Hank has a fondness for the holidays. “I overdo Christmas,” he laughs. “Christmas is over the top at my house. Too many trees; too much stuff.” Hank likes to put out anywhere from three to 10 trees. “It’s mostly about five or six.” He keeps busy at home he says, “Working in the yard and just working on the house.” He likes to get outdoors as well. “I like camping and hiking.” And his favorite spots in the state are quite scenic: “Stanley and the Sawtooths. Or over in Eastern Idaho, Mesa Falls. My grandparents had a farm in Ashton and I could see the Tetons every time I went there. It was really cool.” When it comes to snacking, he’s trying to be healthy and eat more broccoli and cauliflower, but when push comes to shove, he likes M & M’s. And his favorite PBS Kids character is Oscar the Grouch, “because sometimes I can be grouchy.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.