Meet the Staff Mondays – Kari Wardle

We thought our readers/viewers might like to learn about some of the folks who work at IdahoPTV. Because there are so many people who work behind the scenes, you may have seen some of them, or maybe only heard about them. Today we would like to introduce Education Manager Kari Wardle.

IdahoPTV’s Carol Beres recently sat down with Kari, who explained, “I lead the Education Department, and I also do professional development and training for teachers across the state. I’m a former elementary teacher.” An Idaho native, Kari grew up in the Magic Valley. “(I was) born and raised in Burley, Idaho.” Kari earned her associate’s degree at the College of Southern Idaho, her bachelor’s through Western Governors University and her master’s through Idaho State University. She moved out of the state for a few years, then came back. She explains, “I traveled around a little bit. I lived in North Carolina for a total of about three years. And then I lived a year in Arizona, but I ended up back in Burley, where I taught school. And then I moved to Boise about 5 ½ years ago when I took this job.”

Kari’s first position at IdahoPTV involved training teachers to use technology. “I was a huge tech nerd. I loved using technology in the classroom. I was training teachers in my district on how to integrate technology in their classrooms…and (working here) seemed like a perfect fit, kind of a dream job that I wanted for the next level…I was so impressed by how much passion for teachers and for education everybody here and at PBS had. And that was something I could get behind,” Kari says. “And so I accepted that job and here I am. And I still love that. I love their dedication and their commitment to kids and to making sure that there’s representation for everybody: that kids see themselves on TV. I’ve sat in meetings with PBS executives, and even at the highest level…they want to support kids and parents and teachers… and the same within IdahoPTV. The staff has been so excited about education, and excited to support the work.”  

Working with teachers around the entire state, Kari helps teachers implement the tools that IdahoPTV can provide them. “When I first started teaching, I didn’t know any of the resources that were available from IdahoPTV and PBS,” she says. “I knew of Sesame Street and Daniel Tiger, but, I taught fifth grade, and those kids are a little old (for those shows). I honestly didn’t use a bunch of stuff; I didn’t know all the things that we had available…now my goal is to make sure teachers across the state know about it. It’s growing and we’re becoming a well-known entity in the education world, which we didn’t have, I think, when I started here. Nobody knew what we did. We still need to work on more awareness, but now we’re getting invited to things and people are calling us to do things. Whereas, before, we’d have to seek that out.” Kari adds that we’ve been asked to apply for different grants from several organizations. “They’re telling us ‘We love this project! Please apply so that we can fund it.’”

Kari doesn’t have a lot of time for hobbies these days, as she has an 8-year-old son and is the primary caregiver to her mother. “I am a voracious reader. Anything I can read and get my hands on.” She and her son like to bike around the neighborhood and spend time in the water swimming, and those kinds of things. Visiting the local parks is another favorite activity. “My son loves to hike. I don’t love it as much, but I do it, because he loves it,” Kari adds. “My kiddo would be outdoors 24 hours a day if he could.”

When snack time comes around, Kari has a fave salty and sweet snack. She says, “I love sour cream and cheddar potato chips if I’m going to have some chips. For sweet stuff, my favorite is peanut M & M’s.” And Kari’s keeping it close to home when it comes to her favorite part of the Gem State. She says, “I’ve been all over, but I’ll tell you, probably the Snake River Canyon. I’m from that area…I love that canyon down there. My brother-in-law’s family used to have a house down there, so we used to get to golf and boat and just spend a lot of time down there. And I love it. Every time I cross over it or drive by it I just love being there. There’s a lot (that I like in Idaho), but that’s the big one.” And her favorite PBS Kids’ character is tough to choose, “…because I love them all. But, I probably have to go with Daniel Tiger. I loved ‘Mr. Rogers’ as a kid myself. (But) I used so many things from ‘Daniel Tiger’ when teaching my own son…how to be nice to people, when (he was) getting angry and (I) wanted (him) to calm down, I would sing him the Daniel Tiger song. Anytime I was looking for parenting help with my child, I could find a song…I think he will always have a special place in my heart,” she says.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.